The church was built in the 18th century (completed in 1770) near an existing one with the same name. It was built to that the inhabitants of the town would not have to walk far to the nearest churches and also to attract new inhabitants.Inside, it consists of a single nave lined with side chapels and covered with a barrel-vaulted ceiling.
Around the interior runs a gold coloured moulding that crowns the walls and marks the start of the vault. Among its chapels, one of interest is St John’s Chapel, a domed space that burgeons out from the north wall and also has a porch with arches.
On its practically solid, whitewashed facades, the entrance door and the bell are set off with an ochre-coloured strip as the only decoration.