The first documented record of the church of Sant Jordi de ses Salines is from 1469, when it was most likely still being built. It is one of the first four fortress-churches on Ibiza, and the best conserved of all of them. The others are Santa Eulalia des Riu, Sant Antoni de Portmany and Sant Miquel de Balansat. When the Bishopric of Ibiza was created in 1785, it was raised to the category of parish church.It stands where there had been a defensive tower before the 16th century, with a chapel located in the middle for religious services for the workers in the ponds and salt workers living in these quarters ('cuartón').
The side chapels were added in the 17th century and the interior was remodelled considerably in the 19th century. On the outside, the most remarkable elements are the sloping walls and the battlements that lend it a marked defensive character. As usual, the façade features large whitewashed walls and opens onto a porch.Inside there is a single nave divided into three sections by two transversal arches and 17th-century side chapels, one square chapel is covered by a dome with a lantern.Noteworthy among the items conserved is a baptismal font (1732) hewn from a single stone by Majorcan sculptor Joan Coll, the wainscot of glazed Valencian tile and the modern retable of the main altar that imitates a baroque one that disappeared in 1936 as a result of the Spanish Civil War.