This is the traditional house where Junípero Serra lived. It is a typical example of a peasant house in the Pla de Mallorca region during the 17th and 18th centuries. It has two floors and an archway that divides the house into two bays. The furniture and tools of the time of the Blessed and the old cellar are kept inside. It is currently run by the Asociación de Amigos del Padre Serra.
Popular tradition had lost the relationship of Father Serra with this house, until local historian Miquel Ramis identified it as his birthplace in 1931 and prompted the Rotary Club to purchase it. It was restored under the supervision of architect Guillem Forteza so that it would appear just as it had during the 18th century.
A donation was made to the town of San Francisco in California in 1932 and it was opened to the public. The house is in Barracar Alt street, one of the oldest of the town, probably the location of the small group of houses that was built before the royal town was founded in 1300.