Sanctuary Nostra Senyora de Cura
Lullian tradition and island landscape
One of the most famous and popular sanctuaries in Majorca, on a par with the one in Lluc, it was erected near the cave where, according to tradition, Blessed Ramón Llull found Illumination.
The Cura Sanctuary, in mount Randa, is a religious architectural complex that is close to the cave where Blessed Ramón Llull found Illumination. In 1449, Lullian scholar Pere Joan Llobet founded the first Lullian school of grammar, and in 1501 the Courts of the Kingdom of Majorca founded a school of grammar that remained in operation until the 19th century. After years of abandon, its restoration was initiated in 1913 by the Third Order Regular of St. Francis. This restoration was extended to the whole complex in 1950, and it was then assigned as the novitiate of the order.
It is formed by four main buildings. The church is from the 17th century (1668, as indicated in the sun dial on one of the buttresses). It is a small chapel where two very important pieces are kept: the Virgin Mary (sculpted in Santaví stone, in Gothic style, from the 15th and 16th centuries) and a Saint Christ (17th century, from the currently lost convent of Santo Domingo, in Palma).
One of the most emblematic spaces is the one devoted to grammar, which was built around 1623. It houses religious objects and books related with the cult in this sanctuary and Lullian philosophy. It also includes a collection of religious paintings.
The convent and the inn are located nearby.
- SANTUARI DE CURA - RANDA
- 07629 Algaida
- +34 971 66 09 94